BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Petition for

Redetermination of DOCKET NO. 19805

[REDACTED], DECISION

Petitioner.
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On August 24, 2006, the Sales and Use Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax
Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination [Redacted] (taxpayer)
asserting an amusement device permit penalty totaling $10,400 for the registration period July 1,
2006, through June 30, 2007.

The taxpayer protested the Notice of Deficiency Determination in a letter dated October 23,
2006, and later requested an informal hearing, which was held on February 15, 2007.

After reviewing the audit file, considering the amusement device tax compliance history of
the taxpayer, and allowing for circumstances discussed below, the Commission issues this decision
reducing the penalty by one-half to $5,200.

Background

Among its other business activities, the taxpayer has coin-operated amusement devices at
various locations [Redacted]. It retains ownership of the machines and periodically empties them of
their proceeds while checking that they function properly. Idaho Code § 63-3623B imposes upon
owners or operators of amusement devices an annual permit fee in lieu of sales tax remitted from
each device’s revenue stream. Additionally, the statute imposes a $50 penalty per device for the
owner/operator’s failure to buy and display evidence of permits (i.e., state-issued decals) on each
functioning machine in a timely manner. Permits for operational machines are to be renewed and

decals affixed no later than July 1 of each year.
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In July of 2006, the Bureau’s audit staff visited several business locations where the taxpayer
owned and operated amusement devices. Finding machines with outdated decals, the Bureau
prepared a deficiency. Over a few weeks’ duration, the deficiency was amended to reflect more
machines that were found to be without current decals. The final deficiency did not include the
permit fees because, by the time it was issued, the taxpayer had purchased a sufficient number of
decals to cover the 208 machines visually inspected and found to be without the mandatory decals.
The deficiency was issued only for the non-compliance penalty.

Facts and Analysis

The authority for the Commission’s actions in this case, Idaho Code 8§ 63-3623B, reads in
relevant part:

63-3623B. Amusement Devices. — ... (b) In lieu of the
imposition of sales tax upon the use of the amusement device, the
owner or lessee or person having the right to impose a charge for use
of the amusement device must pay an annual permit fee of thirty-five
dollars ($35.00) for each such device.

(c) Upon payment of the permit fees, the state tax commission
shall issue the permit(s) to the owner or lessee or person having the
right to impose a charge for use of the amusement device. ...

(d) All applications for a permit renewal must be made to the
state tax commission on or before July 1 of each year. ...

(e) The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of
providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device has
paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device. ...

(F) In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section
63-3634, Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the
following penalties:

(1) If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose

a charge for the use of any coin, currency or token operated

amusement device in this state shall violate any provision of

this section or any rule promulgated under this section, the
commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for
each device for failure to pay timely permit sticker fees. ...

(g) The state tax commission shall impose the penalties
provided in this section by a notice of deficiency determination in the
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manner provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall be
subject to review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code.)

Commission records show that the taxpayer’s purchase of decals for the current registration
period beginning July 1, 2006, occurred after the deadline. The first occurred on July 14, 2006; the
second occurred on July 27, 2006; and two additional purchases as of this writing occurred in
August and October of 2006.

In its letter of protest, the taxpayer states it does not purchase all required decals at once
because the route men who service the machines have a tendency to lose them. The letter contains
other defenses for missing the registration deadline [Redacted].

The taxpayer does not recall receiving a reminder notice from the Commission and states that

historically it has the decals affixed on time each year and has continued to buy decals throughout
the year as additional amusement devices are placed into service. While the Commission’s records
of the taxpayer’s purchases show some small decal purchases that are likely for amusement devices
that come on line well beyond the first day of the registration period, the main declaration of the
statement is at odds with the facts. Historically, the taxpayer has not purchased and affixed the
decals in a timely manner for its numerous operating machines.

The statute cited previously says, “the state tax commission may assess the following
penalties....” (id, at (f), emphasis added.) Thus, it is within the discretion of the Commission to
determine whether the penalty asserted by an auditor is to be upheld, abated, or eliminated.

In making the determination to reduce the penalty by one-half in this case, it considered the
following information.

Records show that for the past three registration years, including the one under audit, the
taxpayer made a series of large dollar decal purchases, all of which were too late to be in

compliance. The taxpayer has between 450 and 550 machines in service and should buy all decals
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for operating machines prior to the start of the registration year. The pattern of purchases suggest
that the business buys the decals in staggered blocks due to the cost, and this was confirmed during
the informal hearing.

Though the taxpayer’s representative seemed unaware that July 1 was a deadline, the

Bureau’s audit staff sent prior notice in 2006 with the following message:
Renew Decals by July 1

Amusement decals must be renewed on or before July 1 of each
year.* All amusement devices in service on July 1 are required to
have an official decal near the currency slot. Decals are available
from the Idaho State Tax Commssion (sic).

Starting July 5, 2006, Tax Commission employees will visit
amusement device locations throughout Idaho to verify that new
decals have been attached to all devices. The owner of any
amusement device without a current decal will be subject to a $50
penalty plus the $35 decal fee.

* See ldaho Code section 63-3623B and Idaho Sales and Use Tax Administrative Rule 109.

(Reference Idaho State Tax Commission correspondence to amusement device permit holders.)

Additionally, the Revenue Operations Bureau of the Commission routinely sends reminders
to permit holders each year prior to the registration deadline. While the taxpayer states that in past
years decals have not been available by the registration deadline, the Commission has no evidence
that this happened.

Thus, the taxpayer’s written contention that it does not buy all decals at once because of the
incompetence of the route men is at odds with remarks made at the informal hearing. Further, the
taxpayer has been sufficiently and timely notified, and the decals have been available for purchase.

Finally, the Commission considers the taxpayer’s principal employee’s illness and the office
relocation to be mitigating. It therefore exercises its discretion under the relevant statute and reduces

the penalty to one-half of the amount shown on the August 24, 2006, Notice of Deficiency
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Determination.

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated August 24, 2006, is hereby
ADJUSTED and as ADJUSTED is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL.

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES HEREBY ORDER that the petitioner pay a penalty of
$5,200 for the registration period beginning July 1, 2006.

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given.

An explanation of the petitioner’s right to appeal this decision is included with this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007,

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of , 2007, a copy of
the within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[REDACTED] Receipt No.
[REDACTED]
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