
BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[REDACTED], 
 
                         Petitioners. 
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DOCKET NO. 19522 
 
DECISION 

On July 18, 2006, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

denied a request by [Redacted] (petitioners) for refunds of Idaho individual income tax in the 

total amount of $521 for tax years 1998, 1999, 2000, and 2002. 

The petitioners filed a timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denial. 

 The petitioners did not request a hearing.  The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is advised 

of its contents and hereby issues its decision. 

The petitioners filed their 1998, 1999, 2000, and 2002 Idaho individual income tax 

returns on June 5, 2006.  The returns reflected refunds due to the petitioners.  A letter was mailed 

to the petitioners advising them that their refunds were denied because the time to claim the 

refunds had expired.  [Redacted] protested the denial of their refund claim. 

A deficiency notice was mailed to the petitioners to allow them an opportunity to appeal 

the Tax Commission’s decision to deny the refunds.  The petitioners’ file was transferred to the 

Legal/Tax Policy Division for administrative review. 

 Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) provides for a limit on the time allowed to claim a refund. 
 
      63-3072.  Credits and refunds. . . . 

    (c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, 
Idaho Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or 
interest paid shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the 
due date of the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) 
years from the date the return was filed. However, with regard to 
remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a 
tentative return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances 
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shall be made within three (3) years from the due date of the return 
without regard to extensions. (Emphasis added.) 

 
Idaho Code § 63-3024A defines the credit and the time allowed to apply for a refund: 

 63-3024A.  Credits and refunds. -- (a) Any resident individual 
not entitled to the credit allowed in subsection (b)(1), who is 
required to file by law and who has filed an Idaho income tax return, 
shall be allowed a credit against taxes due under the Idaho income 
tax act equal to the amount of twenty dollars ($20.00) for each 
personal exemption for which a deduction is permitted by section 
151(b) and (c) of the Internal Revenue Code if such deduction is 
claimed on the taxpayer's Idaho income tax return, and if the 
individual for whom the deduction is claimed is a resident of the 
state of Idaho.  If taxes due are less than the total credit allowed, the 
taxpayer shall be paid a refund equal to the balance of the unused 
credit.  If the credit or refund is not claimed for the year for which 
the individual income tax return is filed, the right thereafter to claim 
such credit or refund shall be forfeited.  The state tax commission 
shall prescribe the method by which the refund, if any, is to be made 
to the taxpayer . . .
    (g)  An application for any refund which is due and payable 
under the provisions of this section must be filed with the state tax 
commission within three (3) years of: 

     (i)  the due date, including extensions, of the return required 
under section 63-3030, Idaho Code, if the applicant is required 
to file a return, or 
(ii) the 15th day of April of the year following the year to which 
the application relates if the applicant is not required to file a 
return.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
 The petitioners did not question the fairness of the Tax Commission denying their refund 

requests after the three years but felt the refunds should be used as credits to reduce the petitioners’ 

tax liabilities in future years. 

 Idaho Code provides for a limit on the time the Tax Commission has to notify a taxpayer of a 

determination of tax due as follows: 

63-3068.  Period of limitations for issuing a notice of 
deficiency and collection of tax. (a) Except as otherwise provided 
in this section, a notice of deficiency, as provided in section 63-
3045, Idaho Code, for the tax imposed in this chapter shall be 
issued within three (3) years from either the due date of the 
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return, without regard to extensions, or from the date the 
return was filed, whichever is later.

(b)  If an assessment has been made as provided in this 
chapter, then such tax shall be collected either by levy, or by a 
proceeding brought in court, within a period of six (6) years from 
the date of assessment of the tax and provided, further, that this 
shall not be in derogation of any of the remedies elsewhere 
provided in this chapter. 

(c)  In the case of a fraudulent return or a false return with 
the intent to evade the tax imposed in this chapter, or a willful 
attempt in any manner to defeat or evade the tax imposed in this 
chapter, a notice of deficiency may be issued, the tax may be 
assessed, or a proceeding in court for collection of such tax may be 
begun without assessment, at any time. 
(d)  In the case of a failure to file a return, for any reason, a 
notice of deficiency may be issued, the tax imposed in this 
chapter may be assessed, or a proceeding in court for collection 
of such tax may be begun without assessment, at any time.  
(Emphasis added.)  
 

 A three-year time restriction is placed on the Tax Commission for the notification of an 

under payment of tax just as a three-year time restriction is placed on a taxpayer for claiming a credit 

or refund of any overpayment of tax.  When a taxpayer does not file a return as required by law, no 

time restriction for determining and collecting tax due is placed on the Tax Commission. 

 The Tax Commission did not receive the petitioners’ 1998, 1999, 2000, and 2002 Idaho 

income tax returns until June 5, 2006, and the returns were due on April 15, 1999; April 15, 

2000; April 15, 2001; and April 15, 2003, respectively.  The period of limitation with respect to 

claiming a refund or credit of tax shown in the returns expired on April 15, 2002; April 15, 2003; 

April 15, 2004; and April 15, 2006, respectively. 

The Tax Commission finds Idaho Code section 63-3072(c) and section 63-3024A(g), 

cited above, are controlling.  The clear statutory language prohibits credit or refund of tax if the 

claim is not made within a certain timeframe.  No credit or refund will be issued. 
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 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated 

July 18, 2006, that denies the petitioners a credit or refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and 

MADE FINAL. 

An explanation of petitioners’ right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision. 

DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2007. 
 
      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
 

__________________________________________
COMMISSIONER 

 
 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL 
 

I hereby certify that I have on this _____ day of ______________________, 2007, served a 
copy of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[REDACTED] [Redacted] 
 [REDACTED]           
     _______________________________________ 
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