BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of

DOCKET NO. 19753
[REDACTED]

DECISION
Petitioner.
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On August 17, 2006, the staff of the Sales, Use, and Miscellaneous Tax Audit Bureau
(Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued an amended Notice of
Deficiency Determination [Redacted] Inc. (taxpayer) proposing a penalty for the period July 1,
2006, through June 30, 2007, in the total amount of $650.

On October 6, 2006, the Commission received a timely appeal and petition for
redetermination. The taxpayer did not respond to the Commission's hearing rights letter sent
October 23, 2006, and has provided nothing further for the Commission to consider. The
Commission, having reviewed the file, hereby issues its decision upholding the penalty.

Owners and operators of coin, currency, and token-operated amusement devices are
required to purchase and display current decals by July 1 of each year. The taxpayer purchased
decals but failed to display them timely for the period beginning July 1, 2006.

Idaho Code 8§ 63-3623B cites the authority for the decal fee (also referred to as a permit
fee), as well as the penalty provisions for non-compliance:

AMUSEMENT DEVICES. -- (a) For purposes of this section the
term "amusement device" shall mean all coin, currency, or token
operated machines and devices which are used for amusement
including, but not limited to, game machines, pool tables, juke
boxes, electronic games and similar devices.

(b) In lieu of the imposition of sales tax upon the use of the
amusement device, the owner or lessee or person having the right
to impose a charge for use of the amusement device must pay an

annual permit fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for each such
device.
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(c) Upon payment of the permit fees, the state tax commission
shall issue the permit(s) to the owner or lessee or person having the
right to impose a charge for use of the amusement device. Such
permit fee may be increased in a proportionate amount by the
commission if the state sales tax rate increases.

(d) All applications for a permit renewal must be made to the state
tax commission on or before July 1 of each year. Such application
shall contain the same information required on an application to
secure a seller's permit under this chapter and shall be
accompanied by the annual permit fee due for each device.

(e) The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of
providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device
has paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device. No
person subject to a permit fee under this chapter may impose a
charge or collect any consideration for use of such amusement
device unless such official decal, label, or other official indicia, as
required herein, is affixed to such amusement device.

(F) In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 63-
3634, ldaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the
following penalties:

(1) If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose
a charge for the use of any coin, currency or token operated
amusement device in this state shall violate any provision of
this section or any rule promulgated under this section, the
commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for
each device for failure to pay timely permit sticker fees.

(2) A person who knowingly secures or attempts to secure an
amusement device permit sticker under this section by fraud,
misrepresentation, or subterfuge or uses any permit issued under
this section in a fraudulent manner shall be subject to a penalty of
up to twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

(9) The state tax commission shall impose the penalties provided in
this section by a notice of deficiency determination in the manner
provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall be subject to
review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code.

(h) The commission may revoke all permits of any person who
operates any amusement device without complying with the
provisions of this section. Notice of revocation shall be given in
the manner provided for deficiencies in taxes in section 63-3629,
Idaho Code, which shall be subject to review as provided in section
63-3631, Idaho Code.

(i) Permits issued under this section are transferable to another
person only after written notice of the transfer is given to the state
tax commission (Idaho Code 863-3623B, emphasis added.)



Tax Commission records show that in two prior audits (2000 and 2005), the taxpayer was
not compliant with decal purchase requirements. The auditors, in those instances, did not impose
a penalty. The past history of non-compliance is a factor in imposing a penalty in the current
audit.

The taxpayer has not provided the Commission with information to establish that the
amount asserted in the Notice of Deficiency Determination is incorrect. As a result, the
Commission will uphold the tax deficiency notice for the period July 1, 2006, through June 30,
2007. A determination of the State Tax Commission is presumed to be correct (Albertson's, Inc.
v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 ldaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 (1984)), and the burden is on
the taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous (Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Commission,
110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 (Ct. App. 1986)).

Absent information to the contrary, the Commission finds the deficiency prepared by the
Bureau to be an accurate representation of the taxpayer’s liability for the period July 1, 2006,
through June 30, 2007.

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated August 17, 2006, is hereby
APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL.

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following:

PENALTY TOTAL
$650 $650

An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is included with this

decision.
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DATED this day of , 2006.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of , 2006, a copy of the
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[REDACTED] Receipt No.
[REDACTED]
[REDACTED]
[REDACTED]
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