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DOCKET NO.  19751 
 
DECISION 

On August 9, 2006, the staff of the Sales, Use, and Miscellaneous Tax Audit Bureau 

(Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency 

Determination to [Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing annual decal fees and penalty for the period 

July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2006, in the total amount of $602. 

On October 13, 2006, the Commission received a timely appeal and petition for 

redetermination accompanied by full payment.  The taxpayer did not respond to the 

Commission's hearing rights letter sent October 23, 2006, and has provided nothing further for 

the Commission to consider.  The Commission, having reviewed the file, hereby issues its 

decision upholding the annual decal fees and penalty. 

Owners and operators of coin, currency, and token-operated amusement devices are 

required to purchase and display current decals by July 1 of each year.  The taxpayer failed to 

purchase decals for the period beginning July 1, 2001, up to, and including, the annual 

registration period that began July 1, 2005.  The taxpayer claimed that the amusement devices 

were not profitable, and the business provided money for patrons to operate them in an attempt 

to stimulate business.  Under those circumstances, the taxpayer believed no decal purchase was 

necessary. 

Idaho Code § 63-3623B cites the authority for the decal fee (also referred to as a permit 

fee), as well as the penalty provisions for non-compliance: 
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AMUSEMENT DEVICES. -- (a) For purposes of this section the 
term "amusement device" shall mean all coin, currency, or token 
operated machines and devices which are used for amusement 
including, but not limited to, game machines, pool tables, juke 
boxes, electronic games and similar devices. 
(b) In lieu of the imposition of sales tax upon the use of the 
amusement device, the owner or lessee or person having the 
right to impose a charge for use of the amusement device must 
pay an annual permit fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for each 
such device. 
(c) Upon payment of the permit fees, the state tax commission 
shall issue the permit(s) to the owner or lessee or person having the 
right to impose a charge for use of the amusement device. Such 
permit fee may be increased in a proportionate amount by the 
commission if the state sales tax rate increases (Author’s Note:  
The fee per device was $42 in the registration year beginning July 
1, 2004.  IDAPA 35.01.02.109.02.a Idaho Sales and Use Tax 
Administrative Rules). 
(d) All applications for a permit renewal must be made to the state 
tax commission on or before July 1 of each year.  Such application 
shall contain the same information required on an application to 
secure a seller's permit under this chapter and shall be 
accompanied by the annual permit fee due for each device. 
(e) The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of 
providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other 
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having 
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device 
has paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device.  No 
person subject to a permit fee under this chapter may impose a 
charge or collect any consideration for use of such amusement 
device unless such official decal, label, or other official indicia, as 
required herein, is affixed to such amusement device. 
(f) In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 63-
3634, Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the 
following penalties: 
 (1) If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose 
a charge for the use of any coin, currency or token operated 
amusement device in this state shall violate any provision of 
this section or any rule promulgated under this section, the 
commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for 
each device for failure to pay timely permit sticker fees. 
 (2) A person who knowingly secures or attempts to secure an 
amusement device permit sticker under this section by fraud, 
misrepresentation, or subterfuge or uses any permit issued under 
this section in a fraudulent manner shall be subject to a penalty of 
up to twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 
(g) The state tax commission shall impose the penalties provided in 
this section by a notice of deficiency determination in the manner 
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provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall be subject to 
review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code. 
(h) The commission may revoke all permits of any person who 
operates any amusement device without complying with the 
provisions of this section.  Notice of revocation shall be given in 
the manner provided for deficiencies in taxes in section 63-3629, 
Idaho Code, which shall be subject to review as provided in section 
63-3631, Idaho Code. 
(i) Permits issued under this section are transferable to another 
person only after written notice of the transfer is given to the state 
tax commission (Idaho Code §63-3623B, emphasis added.) 

 
The Commission notes from paragraph (f)(1) of the code cited above that it is “the right 

to impose a charge for the use of [an]…. amusement device” (emphasis added), rather than the 

requirement that patrons deposit money in the device, that justifies the imposition of a decal fee.  

Had the Commission been able to verify that patrons never deposited money in the devices, it 

would nevertheless conclude that the taxpayer was obligated to buy the decals. 

The taxpayer has not provided the Commission with information to establish that the 

amount asserted in the Notice of Deficiency Determination is incorrect.  As a result, the 

Commission will uphold the tax deficiency notice for the period July 1, 2001, through June 30, 

2006.  A determination of the State Tax Commission is presumed to be correct (Albertson's, Inc. 

v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 (1984)), and the burden is on 

the taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous (Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Commission, 

110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 (Ct. App. 1986)). 

Absent information to the contrary, the Commission finds the deficiency prepared by the 

Bureau to be an accurate representation of the taxpayer’s liability for the period July 1, 2001, 

through June 30, 2006. 

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated August 9, 2006, is hereby 

APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 
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IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following:  

TAX PENALTY TOTAL
$252 $350 

 
Less Payment 

Total 

$602 
 

          (602) 
           $ 0  

 
 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is included with this 

decision. 

 DATED this ____ day of ____________________, 2006. 

       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
       COMMISSIONER 

 
 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this ____ day of __________________, 2006, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[REDACTED] Receipt No.  
[REDACTED]  
[REDACTED]  
[REDACTED]  
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