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 BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 
 
In the Matter of the Protest of   ) 
      ) DOCKET NO.  19555 
[REDACTED],    ) 
      ) DECISION 
   Petitioner.  ) 
____________________________________ ) 

On August 7, 2006, the Revenue Operations Division (RevOp) of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayer) for refund of Idaho individual income tax in 

the amount of $676 for the period ending December 31, 2000, and $667 for the period ending 

December 31, 2001.   

The taxpayer filed a timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denial.   The 

Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its contents and hereby issues its decision. 

 On April 15, 2006, the Tax Commission received the taxpayer’s 2000 and 2001 Idaho 

individual income tax returns.  Because the time for claiming the refunds reflected in those returns 

had expired, a letter was sent to the taxpayer informing her of the adjustment to deny the refunds.   

 The taxpayer objected to the intended action, and a certified notice was sent to allow her the 

opportunity for administrative review.  Her file was transferred to the Legal/Tax Policy Division for 

the Commission’s review.  A letter outlining her appeal rights was mailed to the taxpayer on  August 

14, 2006.   

 Idaho Code provides for a limit on the time a taxpayer has to claim a credit or refund as 

follows: 

63-3072.  Credits and refunds. (a) Subject to the provisions 
of subsections (c) and (g) of this section, where there has been an 
overpayment of the tax imposed by the provisions of this chapter, the 
amount of such overpayment shall be credited against any tax 
administered by the state tax commission which tax is then due from 
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the taxpayer, and any balance of such excess shall be refunded to the 
taxpayer. 
(b)  The state tax commission is authorized, and the state board of tax 
appeals is authorized to order the state tax commission in proper 
cases, to credit, remit, refund, or pay back all tax, penalties, and 
interest, erroneously or illegally assessed or collected, regardless of 
whether the same have been paid under protest, which claim for 
refund shall be certified to the state board of examiners by the state 
tax commission. 
(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho 
Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest 
paid shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the due 
date of the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years 
from the date the return was filed. However, with regard to 
remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a 
tentative return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances 
shall be made within three (3) years from the due date of the 
return without regard to extensions.   (Emphasis added.) 
 

 Idaho Code § 63-3035(e) states: 

(e)  Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any 
calendar year in accordance with the provisions of this section shall 
be considered to be in part payment of the tax imposed on such 
employee for his tax year which begins within such calendar year and 
the return made by the employer under this subsection (e) shall be 
accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor of the 
employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total 
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee, 
based on his Idaho taxable income, or where his income is not taxable 
under this chapter, the state tax commission shall, after examining the 
annual return filed by the employee in accordance with this chapter, 
but not later than sixty (60) days after the filing of each return, refund 
the amount of the excess deducted. No credit or refund shall be 
made to an employee who fails to file his return, as required 
under this chapter, within three (3) years from the due date of the 
return, without regard to extensions, in respect of which the tax 
withheld might have been credited. In the event that the excess 
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tax deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund shall be 
made unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time 
such return is filed.  (Emphasis added.) 
 

 Idaho law provides for a credit or refund of any overpayment; however, the claim for the 

credit or refund must be made within a certain timeframe.  The Tax Commission did not get the 

taxpayer’s claim for refund until the taxpayer’s returns were received on April 16, 2006.  The time 

allowed for claiming the 2000 refund expired on April 15, 2004, and the time for claiming the 2001 

refund expired on April 15, 2005.  

 In her letter of protest, the taxpayer asked for additional time to gather information.  She 

was allowed the requested time, but no information was received from her. 

  Idaho Code §§ 63-3072 and 63-3035 are clear and unequivocal.  The language in these 

sections “shall be made” is not discretionary, but rather, it is mandatory.  The Tax Commission finds 

Idaho Code § 63-3072(c), cited above, is controlling with respect to the taxpayer’s refund claim for 

tax years 2000 and 2001.  No credit or refund can be given. 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated August 

7, 2006, that denies the taxpayer a refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is included with this decision. 

 DATED this    day of     , 2006. 

       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

             
       COMMISSIONER 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     , 2006, a copy of 
the within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
  

[REDACTED] Receipt No. 
[REDACTED]  
[REDACTED]  
  
  

 
        

 
 


