
 
BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Petition for 
Redetermination of 
 
[REDACTED], 
 

                         Petitioner. 
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DOCKET NO.  19530 
 
DECISION 

On July 18, 2006, the Sales and Use Tax Audit Bureau of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination for the period of July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2007, 

to [Redacted] (taxpayer), asserting amusement device permit fees and penalty totaling $680 for its 

failure to buy and affix current decals for amusement devices.  

In a letter dated July 20, 2006, the taxpayer protested the penalty portion of the Notice of 

Deficiency Determination.  The taxpayer requested an informal hearing via telephone, which was 

held on August 22, 2006. 

[Redacted]  Idaho Code § 63-3623B imposes upon owners or operators of  amusement 

devices an annual permit fee in lieu of  sales tax remitted from each device’s revenue stream.  

Additionally, the statute imposes a $50 penalty per device for the owner/operator’s failure either to 

buy the permits or display the decals that are evidence the required fees have been paid.  The code 

section is noted below, in relevant part: 

63-3623B. AMUSEMENT DEVICES. -- ….(b) In lieu of the 
imposition of sales tax upon the use of the amusement device, the 
owner or lessee or person having the right to impose a charge for 
use of the amusement device must pay an annual permit fee of 
thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for each such device. 
 (c) Upon payment of the permit fees, the state tax commission 
shall issue the permit(s) to the owner or lessee or person having the 
right to impose a charge for use of the amusement device. 
 (d) All applications for a permit renewal must be made to 
the state tax commission on or before July 1 of each year. 
 (e) The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of 
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providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other 
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having 
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device has 
paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device. 
 (f) In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 
63-3634, Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the 
following penalties: 
 (1) If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to 
impose a charge for the use of any coin, currency or token 
operated amusement device in this state shall violate any 
provision of this section or any rule promulgated under this 
section, the commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars 
($50.00) for each device for failure to pay timely permit sticker 
fees. 
 (g) The state tax commission shall impose the penalties 
provided in this section by a notice of deficiency determination in the 
manner provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall be 
subject to review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code. 
(emphasis added) 

 
 In its letter of protest and during the telephonic hearing, the taxpayer explained that it was 

late buying and affixing the decals due to significant changes in its accounting system and staff.  In 

the transition, someone misplaced a letter from the Commission reminding the business to buy and 

affix current (renewal) decals by July 1, 2006.  The taxpayer bought decals on or about August 28, 

2006, in response to the audit findings. 

 According to the taxpayer, the operation of amusement devices is not its primary business.  It 

discards the machines when they break and does not replace them.  It had no intention of avoiding 

the taxes.   

These statements are not persuasive defenses against a negligence penalty.  However, the 

Commission reviewed the decal purchase history of the taxpayer and believes that the level of past 

compliance warrants a reduction in the penalty imposed in the current audit.  Therefore, the 

Commission affirms $200 in penalty and abates $200 in penalty.  It also acknowledges that the 

taxpayer has paid the $280 decal fee imposed in the Notice of Deficiency Determination. 

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated July 18, 2006, is hereby 
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MODIFIED, and as so modified is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES HEREBY ORDER that the petitioner pay the following 

penalty: 

PENALTY TOTAL
$200 $200 

 
 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is included with this decision. 

 DATED this    day of     , 2006. 

       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

             
       COMMISSIONER 

 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     , 2006, a copy of 
the within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
[Redacted]  
[Redacted]  
[Redacted]  
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