
BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
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                             Petitioners. 
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DOCKET NO. 18717 
 
DECISION 

On April 20, 2005, the Revenue Operations Division (RevOp) of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayers) for credit or refund of Idaho individual 

income tax in the amount of $602 for the period ending December 31, 1998.   

The taxpayers filed a timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denial.   

The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its contents and hereby issues its decision. 

The Tax Commission received the taxpayers’ 1998 Idaho individual income tax return dated 

January 26, 2005.  Because the time for claiming the refund reflected in that return had expired, a 

letter was sent to the taxpayers informing them of the adjustment to deny the refund.  The taxpayers 

objected to the intended action, and a certified notice was sent to allow them the opportunity for 

administrative review.  Their file was transferred to the Legal/Tax Policy Division for the 

Commission’s review. 

In their letter of protest, the taxpayers said in pertinent part:   

Apparently there is no statue [sic] on time limit of filing back 
taxes.  Yet, if there is a refund you only have 3 years.  That is 
contradicting and unfair to the individual.  I feel it is only fare [sic] 
due to the fact that the State requires filing as far back as an 
individual owes, so the State should give the individual the same 
respect if there is a refund no natter [sic] how far back. 
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   Idaho Code provides for a limit on the time a taxpayer has to claim a credit or refund 

as follows: 

63-3072.  Credits and refunds. (a) Subject to the provisions 
of subsections (c) and (g) of this section, where there has been an 
overpayment of the tax imposed by the provisions of this chapter, the 
amount of such overpayment shall be credited against any tax 
administered by the state tax commission which tax is then due from 
the taxpayer, and any balance of such excess shall be refunded to the 
taxpayer. 
(b)  The state tax commission is authorized, and the state board of tax 
appeals is authorized to order the state tax commission in proper 
cases, to credit, remit, refund, or pay back all tax, penalties, and 
interest, erroneously or illegally assessed or collected, regardless of 
whether the same have been paid under protest, which claim for 
refund shall be certified to the state board of examiners by the state 
tax commission. 
(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho 
Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest 
paid shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the due 
date of the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years 
from the date the return was filed. However, with regard to 
remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a 
tentative return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances 
shall be made within three (3) years from the due date of the 
return without regard to extensions.   (Emphasis added.) 
 

 Idaho Code § 63-3035(e) states: 

(e)  Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any 
calendar year in accordance with the provisions of this section shall 
be considered to be in part payment of the tax imposed on such 
employee for his tax year which begins within such calendar year and 
the return made by the employer under this subsection (e) shall be 
accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor of the 
employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total 
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee, 
based on his Idaho taxable income, or where his income is not taxable 
under this chapter, the state tax commission shall, after examining the 
annual return filed by the employee in accordance with this chapter, 
but not later than sixty (60) days after the filing of each return, refund 
the amount of the excess deducted. No credit or refund shall be 
made to an employee who fails to file his return, as required 
under this chapter, within three (3) years from the due date of the 
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return, without regard to extensions, in respect of which the tax 
withheld might have been credited. In the event that the excess 
tax deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund shall be 
made unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time 
such return is filed.  (Emphasis added.) 
 

 Idaho law provides for a credit or refund of any overpayment; however, the claim for the 

credit or refund must be made within a certain timeframe.  The Tax Commission did not get the 

taxpayers’ claim for a refund until the taxpayers’ return was received in 2005.  Unfortunately, the 

time allowed for claiming the 1998 refund expired on April 15, 2002.  

 The taxpayers question the length of time the Tax Commission has to collect taxes from an 

individual.  They expressed their opinion that it would be unfair for the state to be allowed to go 

back further than three years.  Idaho Code provides for a limit on the time the Tax Commission has 

to notify a taxpayer of a determination of tax due as follows: 

 63-3068.  Period of limitations for issuing a notice 
of deficiency and collection of tax. (a) Except as otherwise provided 
in this section, a notice of deficiency, as provided in section 63-
3045, Idaho Code, for the tax imposed in this chapter shall be 
issued within three (3) years from either the due date of the 
return, without regard to extensions, or from the date the return 
was filed, whichever is later.

(b)  If an assessment has been made as provided in this 
chapter, then such tax shall be collected either by levy, or by a 
proceeding brought in court, within a period of six (6) years from the 
date of assessment of the tax and provided, further, that this shall not 
be in derogation of any of the remedies elsewhere provided in this 
chapter. 

(c)  In the case of a fraudulent return or a false return with the 
intent to evade the tax imposed in this chapter, or a willful attempt in 
any manner to defeat or evade the tax imposed in this chapter, a 
notice of deficiency may be issued, the tax may be assessed, or a 
proceeding in court for collection of such tax may be begun without 
assessment, at any time. 
(d)  In the case of a failure to file a return, for any reason, a 
notice of deficiency may be issued, the tax imposed in this chapter 
may be assessed, or a proceeding in court for collection of such 
tax may be begun without assessment, at any time.  (Emphasis 
added.) 
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 A three-year time restriction is placed on the Tax Commission for the notification of an 

under payment of tax just as a three-year time restriction is placed on a taxpayer for claiming a credit 

or refund of any overpayment of tax.  Idaho Code directs an individual who meets Idaho’s income 

tax filing requirements to file a return by a certain date.  Until a return is filed, the Tax Commission 

does not know whether a taxpayer is claiming a refund/credit or owes income tax.    

 Idaho Code §§ 63-3072 and 63-3035 are clear and unequivocal. The language in these 

sections “shall be made. . .” is not discretionary; but rather, it is mandatory.  The Tax Commission 

finds Idaho Code § 63-3072(c), cited above, is controlling with respect to the taxpayers’ refund 

claim for tax year 1998.  No credit or refund can be given. 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated April 

20, 2005, that denies the taxpayers a refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 An explanation of taxpayers’ right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision. 

 DATED this _____ day of _______________________, 2005. 
 
       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
       _______________________________________  
       COMMISSIONER 

DECISION - 4 
[Redacted] 



 
 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL 
 
 I hereby certify that I have on this _____ day of ______________________, 2005, served a copy 
of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in 
an envelope addressed to: 
 

[REDACTED] [REDACTED]
 [REDACTED]_______________________________________ 
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