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DOCKET NO.  17847 
 
DECISION 

On May 19, 2003, the Managed Audit Section of the Sales Tax Audit Bureau of the Idaho 

State Tax Commission (Tax Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to 

[Redacted] (taxpayer), proposing additional sales tax, penalty, and interest for the period of July 

1, 2000, through June 30, 2003, in the total amount of $40,727.  The taxpayer filed a timely 

protest and petition for redetermination and requested an informal hearing before the Tax 

Commission.  The hearing was held on June 7, 2004.  The Tax Commission, having reviewed the 

file and the arguments presented by the taxpayer, hereby issues its decision. 

The taxpayer owns coin operated video games and other amusement devices that it places 

in retail stores such as [Redacted].  The taxpayer has consistently owned and operated machines 

in Idaho that do not have amusement device permit stickers affixed, as required by Idaho Code § 

63-3623B: 

63-3623B.  AMUSEMENT DEVICES. -- (a) For 
purposes of this section the term "amusement device" shall mean 
all coin, currency, or token operated machines and devices which 
are used for amusement including, but not limited to, game 
machines, pool tables, juke boxes, electronic games and similar 
devices. 

(b) In lieu of the imposition of sales tax upon the use of the 
amusement device, the owner or lessee or person having the right 
to impose a charge for use of the amusement device must pay an 
annual permit fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for each such 
device. 
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(c) Upon payment of the permit fees, the state tax 
commission shall issue the permit(s) to the owner or lessee or 
person having the right to impose a charge for use of the 
amusement device. Such permit fee may be increased in a 
proportionate amount by the commission if the state sales tax rate 
increases. 

(d) All applications for a permit renewal must be made to 
the state tax commission on or before July 1 of each year.  Such 
application shall contain the same information required on an 
application to secure a seller's permit under this chapter and shall 
be accompanied by the annual permit fee due for each device. 

(e) The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system 
of providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other 
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having 
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device 
has paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device.  No 
person subject to a permit fee under this chapter may impose a 
charge or collect any consideration for use of such amusement 
device unless such official decal, label, or other official indicia, as 
required herein, is affixed to such amusement device. 

(f) In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 
63-3634, Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the 
following penalties: 

(1) If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to 
impose a charge for the use of any coin, currency or token operated 
amusement device in this state shall violate any provision of this 
section or any rule promulgated under this section, the commission 
may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each device for 
failure to pay timely permit sticker fees. 

 (2) A person who knowingly secures or attempts to secure 
an amusement device permit sticker under this section by fraud, 
misrepresentation, or subterfuge or uses any permit issued under 
this section in a fraudulent manner shall be subject to a penalty of 
up to twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 

(g) The state tax commission shall impose the penalties 
provided in this section by a notice of deficiency determination in 
the manner provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall 
be subject to review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code. 

(h) The commission may revoke all permits of any person 
who operates any amusement device without complying with the 
provisions of this section.  Notice of revocation shall be given in 
the manner provided for deficiencies in taxes in section 63-3629, 
Idaho Code, which shall be subject to review as provided in section 
63-3631, Idaho Code. 
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(i) Permits issued under this section are transferable to 
another person only after written notice of the transfer is given to 
the state tax commission.  (Emphasis added.)

 Idaho sales tax rule 109.02.b (IDAPA 35.01.02.109.02.b) states that a separate 

amusement device permit is required for every device in operation.  When the owner of the 

machine purchases a permit, he is given a sticker that must be affixed near the currency slot of 

the machine in such a manner that it is easily visible.  (At all times during the audit period, the 

amusement device permit fee was $35 per machine.  As of July 1, 2004, rule 109 was amended 

to provide that the permit fee would go up or down by an amount proportional to any change in 

the sales tax rate.  The current permit fee is therefore $42.) 

 The taxpayer objected to the imposition of the penalty and the use of an estimate for the 

first year of the audit period.   

 It should be noted that the audit staff imposed both a license fee and a penalty for each 

device the taxpayer operated in Idaho with no stickers.  In some cases, the taxpayer purchased 

stickers but did not affix them.  The Commission will adjust the amount of deficiency to reflect 

that the $35 permit fee will be imposed only on the number of machines in operation that 

exceeded the amount of permit stickers purchased. 

 The taxpayer does not dispute that it has not purchased permit stickers for all of its 

machines and that it has operated machines in Idaho with no permit stickers.  This has been an 

ongoing problem with this taxpayer and the Tax Commission continues to receive calls 

concerning the taxpayer’s machines.  In fact the taxpayer continues to operate machines in Idaho 

with no permit stickers to this day.  The legislature has reviewed the penalty provision of this 

statute twice:  first, when the bill creating the permit system was introduced and again in 1997.  

The $50 penalty has remained in place since that time and the legislative intent has always been 
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for the penalty to be higher than the permit fee.  For these reasons, the penalty in this case is 

appropriate.  Since the $50 penalty is imposed for violating any of the provisions of the statute or 

rules, it will be imposed for each machine the taxpayer has operated in Idaho without a permit 

sticker attached.   

Finally, the taxpayer has objected to the use of an estimate to calculate the deficiency for 

the fiscal year ending June 30, 2001.  The taxpayer was unable to provide any records for its 

operations in Idaho for this year.  The taxpayer did send a spreadsheet showing the locations of 

90 machines in Idaho in 2001.  This document is not supported by the accounting records. Idaho 

Code § 63-3624(c) states that every seller must maintain such records, receipts, invoices and 

other pertinent papers as the State Tax Commission may require.  Idaho sales tax administrative 

rule 111 (IDAPA 35.01.02.111) requires every retailer doing business in Idaho to keep complete 

and adequate records as may be necessary for the Tax Commission to determine the amount of 

sales tax for which that person is liable under Title 63, Chapter 36, Idaho Code.  In this case, the 

taxpayer has failed to keep adequate records.  A Notice of Deficiency Determination issued by 

the Idaho State Tax Commission is presumed to be accurate.  Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Com'n, 

110 Idaho 572 (Ct. App. 1986).  The burden of proof is on the taxpayer to show that the Notice 

of Deficiency Determination is incorrect.  Albertson’s, Inc. v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 

810 (1984).  The taxpayer has failed to meet that burden.  Nonetheless, the Tax Commission 

agrees that a “percentage of error” method should be used to estimate the deficiency rather than 

the method used by the audit staff, which was based on the average annual growth rate of the 

company.  The “percentage of error” method applies the error rate of the second year of the audit 

period to the number of permits purchased in the first year.  The third year is not representative 
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of the audit period because the taxpayer purchased more amusement device permit stickers after 

the start of the audit.  The deficiency will be modified accordingly.   

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated May 19, 2003, is 

MODIFIED, and, as so modified, is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax, 

penalty, and interest (calculated through August 20, 2004): 

TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL
$3,710 

 
$22,950 $896 $27,556 

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

An explanation of the taxpayer’s rights to appeal this decision is enclosed with this 

decision. 

DATED this          day of                                      , 2004. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL  

I hereby certify that on this ____ day of _______________, 2004, a copy of the within 
and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:   

[Redacted] 
[Redacted] 

[Redacted] 
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