
 BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 
 
In the Matter of the Protest of   ) 
      ) DOCKET NO.  17574 
[REDACTED]    ) DECISION 
      ) 
   Petitioners.  ) 
_____________________________________) 
 

On September 11, 2003, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayers) for refund of individual income tax in the 

amount of $368 for the period ending December 31, 1999.  The taxpayers filed a timely protest and 

petition for redetermination of the refund denial.   The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is 

advised of its contents and hereby issues its decision. 

On April 23, 2003, the taxpayers submitted their 1999 Idaho individual income tax return to 

the Tax Commission for processing.   This return was submitted in response to the Tax 

Commission’s Tax Discovery Bureau’s inquiry into the taxpayers’ filing requirements because no 

returns had been filed for several years.   

Because the time for claiming the refund shown in the 1999 return had expired, a letter was 

mailed to the taxpayers advising them of the Tax Commission's intent to deny the refund.  The 

taxpayers objected and a Notice of Deficiency Determination was issued wherein the taxpayers were 

advised the refunds were denied and they had a right to appeal the determination. 

In the taxpayers’ letter, they questioned their requirement to file a return when it resulted in a 

refund that was denied.  They felt it was a waste of their time.  They explained [Redacted]’s 1999 

hospitalization and other health problems that resulted in their failure to file tax returns.  They 

added:  “We are going to be getting our taxes for the next 3 years done very soon.” 

 Idaho Code § 63-3032 defines the due date of Idaho income tax returns: 

63-3032.  Time for filing income tax returns. (1) Except as 
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provided in section 63-3033, Idaho Code: 
(a) Returns made on the basis of the calendar year shall be filed in 
the office of the Idaho state tax commission on or before the 15th day 
of April following the close of the calendar year and returns made on 
the basis of a fiscal year shall be filed in the office of the Idaho state 
tax commission on or before the 15th day of the fourth month 
following the close of the fiscal year.   

 
As residents of Idaho with taxable income, the taxpayers were required to file Idaho 

individual income tax returns.  The returns were made on the basis of the calendar year; therefore, 

they were required to be filed on or before April 15th following the close of the calendar year. 

 Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) provides for a limit on the time allowed to claim a refund: 

  63-3072.  Credits and refunds. . . . 
(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho 
Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest 
paid shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the due 
date of the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years 
from the date the return was filed. However, with regard to 
remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a tentative 
return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances shall be made 
within three (3) years from the due date of the return without regard 
to extensions.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
Idaho Code § 63-3035(e) further clarifies the requirement for claiming credits and refunds 

within a certain timeframe: 

(e)  Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any 
calendar year in accordance with the provisions of this section shall 
be considered to be in part payment of the tax imposed on such 
employee for his tax year which begins within such calendar year and 
the return made by the employer under this subsection (e) shall be 
accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor of the 
employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total 
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee, 
based on his Idaho taxable income, or where his income is not taxable 
under this chapter, the state tax commission shall, after examining the 
annual return filed by the employee in accordance with this chapter, 
but not later than sixty (60) days after the filing of each return, refund 
the amount of the excess deducted. No credit or refund shall be 
made to an employee who fails to file his return, as required 
under this chapter, within three (3) years from the due date of the 
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return, without regard to extensions, in respect of which the tax 
withheld might have been credited. In the event that the excess tax 
deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund shall be made 
unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time such return is 
filed.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
 The Tax Commission finds Idaho Code § 63-3072(c), cited above, is controlling.  The clear 

statutory language prohibits credit or refund of taxes if the claim is not made within a certain 

timeframe.   

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated 

September 11, 2003, that denies the taxpayers a refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE 

FINAL. 

 An explanation of taxpayers’ right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision. 

 DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2003. 
 
       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
       ______________________________  
       COMMISSIONER 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL 
 
 I hereby certify that I have on this _____ day of ______________________, 2003, served a copy 
of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in 
an envelope addressed to: 
 
[Redacted]   _____________________________ 


