
DECISION - 1 
[Redacted] 

 BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 
 
In the Matter of the Protest of   ) 
      ) DOCKET NO.  17503 
[REDACTED]   )  
      ) DECISION 
   Petitioner.  ) 
_____________________________________) 
 

On July 25, 2003, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayer) for refund of Idaho individual income tax in the amount of 

$232 for the period ending December 31, 1998 and $488 for the period ending December 31, 1999.  

The taxpayer filed a timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denial.   The Tax 

Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its contents and hereby issues its decision. 

On June 15, 2003, the taxpayer submitted his 1998 and 1999 Idaho individual income tax 

returns to the Tax Commission for processing.   Because the time for claiming refunds shown in the 

two returns had expired, a letter was mailed to the taxpayer advising him of the Tax Commission's 

intent to deny the refunds.  The taxpayer objected and a Notice of Deficiency Determination was 

issued wherein the taxpayer was advised the refunds were denied and he had a right to appeal the 

determination. 

 Idaho Code § 63-3032 defines the due date of Idaho income tax returns: 

63-3032.  Time for filing income tax returns. (1) Except as 
provided in section 63-3033, Idaho Code: 
(a) Returns made on the basis of the calendar year shall be filed in 
the office of the Idaho state tax commission on or before the 15th day 
of April following the close of the calendar year and returns made on 
the basis of a fiscal year shall be filed in the office of the Idaho state 
tax commission on or before the 15th day of the fourth month 
following the close of the fiscal year.   



DECISION - 2 
[Redacted] 

            As a resident of Idaho with taxable income, the taxpayer was required to file Idaho individual 

income tax returns.  The returns were made on the basis of the calendar year; therefore, they were 

required to be filed on or before April 15th following the close of the calendar year. 

 In his letter of protest, the taxpayer asked the Tax Commission to reconsider the decision to 

deny his refund.  However, Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) defines the time allowed to claim refunds: 

  63-3072.  Credits and refunds. . . . 
(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho 
Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest paid 
shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the due date of 
the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years from the 
date the return was filed. However, with regard to remittances 
received with an extension of time to file, or a tentative return, a 
claim for credit or refund of such remittances shall be made within 
three (3) years from the due date of the return without regard to 
extensions.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
Idaho Code § 63-3035(c) provides: 

(e)  Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any 
calendar year in accordance with the provisions of this section shall 
be considered to be in part payment of the tax imposed on such 
employee for his tax year which begins within such calendar year and 
the return made by the employer under this subsection (e) shall be 
accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor of the 
employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total 
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee, 
based on his Idaho taxable income, or where his income is not taxable 
under this chapter, the state tax commission shall, after examining the 
annual return filed by the employee in accordance with this chapter, 
but not later than sixty (60) days after the filing of each return, refund 
the amount of the excess deducted. No credit or refund shall be 
made to an employee who fails to file his return, as required under 
this chapter, within three (3) years from the due date of the 
return, without regard to extensions, in respect of which the tax 
withheld might have been credited. In the event that the excess tax 
deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund shall be made 
unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time such return is 
filed.  (Emphasis added.) 

 



DECISION - 3 
[Redacted] 

The period of limitation with respect to claiming a refund or credit of taxes shown in the 

Idaho income tax return for 1998 expired on April 15, 2002 and for 1999 on April 15, 2003.  The 

Tax Commission did not receive the taxpayer’s returns until June 15, 2003.   

 The Tax Commission finds Idaho Code §§ 63-3072(c) and 63-3035(e), cited above, are 

controlling.  The clear statutory language prohibits credit or refund of taxes if the claim is not made 

within a certain timeframe.  No credit or refund will be issued. 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated July 

25, 2003, that denies the taxpayer a refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 An explanation of taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision. 

 DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2003. 
 
       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
       ______________________________  
       COMMISSIONER 
 
 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that I have on this _____ day of ______________________, 2003, served a copy 
of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in 
an envelope addressed to: 
 
[Redacted]  _____________________________ 
       


