
DECISION - 1 
[Redacted] 

BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[REDACTED], 
 

                         Petitioner. 
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DECISION 

 On January 30, 2003, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayer) for refund of individual income tax in the amount of $310 

for the period ending December 31, 1998.  The taxpayer filed a timely protest and petition for 

redetermination of the refund denial.   The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its 

contents, and hereby issues its decision. 

On October 11, 2002, the taxpayer submitted a 1998 Idaho individual income tax return to 

the Tax Commission for processing.   Because the time for claiming the $310 refund shown in the 

return had expired, a letter was mailed to the taxpayer indicating the Tax Commission was denying 

the refund.  The taxpayer objected and a Notice of Deficiency Determination was issued to provide 

the taxpayer with the opportunity for administrative review. 

The taxpayer’s letter explained the return was filed late because: 

1. I did not have the mortgage interest statement necessary for 
claiming mortgage interest paid. 
2. There was some confusion as to whether or not I could claim 
dependents, as I had recently divorced. 
3. I was unaware of the three-year limit on filing for returns as the 
tax commission doesn’t have that time limit for reviewing taxes. 
 

The taxpayer’s statement about the Tax Commission not having a time limit for reviewing 

taxes is in error.  Idaho Code § 63-3068 states in pertinent part: 

Period of limitations for issuing a notice of deficiency and 
collection of tax. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, 
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a notice of deficiency, as provided in section 63-3045, Idaho Code, 
for the tax imposed in this chapter shall be issued within three (3) 
years from either the due date of the return, without regard to 
extensions, or from the date the return was filed, whichever is 
later. (Emphasis added.) 

 
 The Tax Commission is allowed three years in which to notify a taxpayer of additional Idaho 

income tax unless an original return has not been filed.  There is no time limitation if a return has not 

been filed.    

 Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) provides for a limit on the time allowed to claim a refund: 

  63-3072.  Credits and refunds. . . . 
(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho 
Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest paid 
shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the due date of 
the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years from the 
date the return was filed. However, with regard to remittances 
received with an extension of time to file, or a tentative return, a 
claim for credit or refund of such remittances shall be made within 
three (3) years from the due date of the return without regard to 
extensions. (Emphasis added.) 

 
Idaho Code § 63-3024A(g) defines the time allowed to apply for refund: 

 
63-3024A.  Credits and refunds. . . .
(g)  An application for any refund which is due and payable under the 
provisions of this section must be filed with the state tax commission 
within three (3) years of: 

 (i)  the due date, including extensions, of the return required under 
section 63-3030, Idaho Code, if the applicant is required to file a 
return, or 
(ii) the 15th day of April of the year following the year to which 
the application relates if the applicant is not required to file a 
return.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
 Idaho Codes provides a taxpayer the same number of years to claim a refund or credit as 

allowed for the Tax Commission to claim a tax deficiency. 
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 The Tax Commission did not receive the taxpayer’s 1998 Idaho income tax return until 

October 11, 2002.  The return was due on April 15, 1999.  The period of limitation with respect to 

claiming a refund or credit of taxes shown in the return expired on April 15, 2002.   

 The Tax Commission finds Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) and § 63-3024A(g), cited above, are 

controlling.  The clear statutory language prohibits credit or refund of taxes if the claim is not made 

within a certain timeframe.  No credit or refund will be issued. 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated 

January 30, 2003, that denies the taxpayer a refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE 

FINAL. 

 An explanation of taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision. 

 DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2003. 
 
       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
 
       __________________________________  
       COMMISSIONER 
 
 
 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE  
 
 I hereby certify that I have on this _____ day of ______________________, 2003, served a copy 
of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in 

ressed to: an envelope add  
[REDACTED] [Redacted] 

[Redacted]     _______________________________________ 
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