BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 15207
[REDACTED],
DECISION
Petitioner.
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On November 15, 2000, the Revenue Operations Division of the ldaho State Tax
Commission denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayer) for refund of individual income tax in the
amounts of $14 for the period ending December 31, 1994; $43 for the period ending
December 31, 1995; and $258 for the period ending December 31, 1996.

The taxpayer filed a timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denials.
The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its contents and hereby issues its decision.

On August 29, 2000, the taxpayer submitted his 1994, 1995, and 1996 Idaho individual
income tax returns to the Tax Commission for processing. Because the time for claiming the refunds
that were shown in the returns had expired before the returns were filed, a letter was mailed to the
taxpayer that advised him of the Tax Commission's intent to deny the refunds. The taxpayer
objected and a notice of deficiency determination was issued wherein the taxpayer was advised the
refunds were denied and he had a right to appeal the determination.

Idaho Code § 63-3032 defines the due date of Idaho income tax returns:

Time for filing income tax returns. (a) Returns made on the basis of the
calendar year shall be filed in the office of the Idaho state tax
commission on or before the 15th day of April following the close of the
calendar year and returns made on the basis of a fiscal year shall be filed

in the office of the ldaho state tax commission on or before the 15th day
of the fourth month following the close of the fiscal year.

As a resident of Idaho, the taxpayer was required to file an Idaho individual income tax

return for each of the years in question. The returns were made on the basis of the calendar year;
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therefore, they were required to be filed on or before April 15th following the close of the calendar
year. The code is clear and unequivocal.

In his letter of protest, the taxpayer asked for, “a waiver on the state code which does not
allow refunds from the years stated above because of late filing.” He went on to say that prior to
1994 he had always filed on time. He said he did not realize he could be forfeiting his refunds by
not filing. The taxpayer explained that he moved to [Redacted] from [Redacted] when he was
twenty-six after his parents were killed. He said he needed the money to help defray the costs of
attaining his United States citizenship.

Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) provides for a limit on the time allowed to claim a refund:

Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho Code,
aclaim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest paid shall
be made within the later of three (3) years of the due date of the
return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years from the
date the return was filed. However, with regard to remittances
received with an extension of time to file, or a tentative return, a
claim for credit or refund of such remittances shall be made within

three (3) years from the due date of the return without regard to
extensions. (Emphasis added.)

Idaho Code § 63-3035(e) explains the time limitation regarding employee withholding:

(e) Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any
calendar year in accordance with the provisions of this section shall
be considered to be in part payment of the tax imposed on such
employee for his tax year which begins within such calendar year and
the return made by the employer under this subsection (e) shall be
accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor of the
employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee,
based on his taxable income as computed under the provisions of this
act, as the same has been or may hereafter be amended, or where his
income is not taxable under this act, the state tax commission shall,
after examining the annual return filed by the employee in
accordance with this act, but not later than sixty (60) days after the
filing of each return, refund the amount of the excess deducted. No
credit or refund shall be made to an employee who fails to file his
return, as required under this act, within three (3) years from the
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due date of the return, without regard to extensions, in respect of
which the tax withheld might have been credited. In the event that
the excess tax deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund shall
be made unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time such
return is filed. (Emphasis added.)

The period of limitation with respect to claiming a refund or credit of taxes shown in the
Idaho income tax return for 1994 expired on April 15, 1998; 1995 expired on April 16, 1999; and
1996 expired on April 15, 2000. The Tax Commission did not receive the taxpayer's three returns
until August 29, 2000.

The Tax Commission finds Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) and § 63-3035(e), cited above, are
controlling. The clear statutory language prohibits credit or refund of taxes if the claim is not made
within a certain timeframe. The taxpayer’s withholding will be allowed to offset the tax due each
year; however, no credit or refund will be issued.

WHEREFORE, Notice of Deficiency Determination denying the refund dated
November 15, 2000, directed to [Redacted], is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, AND MADE FINAL.

An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision.

DATED this day of , 2001.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL

I hereby certify that | have on this day of , 2001, served a copy
of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in
an envelope addressed to:
[Redacted]

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT 1
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